Problem Solever

January 7, 2009

BootsEvery October the search begins.

No matter what’s in my closet – what state my current pairs are in or how much I spent on last year’s purchases – I set out to buy a new pair of winter boots.

Sometimes, I don’t quite find what I’m looking for and end up purchasing a few “almost right but not quite right” pairs before I find just what I’m looking for. (If I ever find it).
It can be a pretty costly venture. Especially, if you don’t want to wear what everyone else is wearing so you look outside the Montreal – Ottawa – Toronto limits.

My two main criteria for winter booths are style and warmth – usually, in that order. Since I don’t drive/have a parking spot/a car/a bus pass and my boots are my winter vehicle, I’ve smartly given up on boots with four inch heels. Flat boots are a winter necessity.

But Flat boots are often problematic; their soles are too thin. This causes two problems: 1) you feel the cold earth under your feet; 2) the soft soles get used up pretty quickly and your fancy leather boots are rendered useless after a few long walks.

Solution: re-soling.

It’s cheap, about $30. And not only solves problems 1 and 2 but also 3) Stops you from slipping when walking on dangerous surfaces like grids, ceramic floors (what’s up with the EQ3 entrance?) and mall entrances.

Here are a few places to try:

Capital Shoe Clinic, 203 Queen Street (corner Bank)
Bytown Shoe Repair, 341 Dalhousie St
Earth Watch Shoe Service, 427 Laurier Ave. W

2 Responses to “Problem Solever”

  1. margaret613 Says:

    Solever! hahaha

  2. Katie Says:

    Glebe Trotters on Bank sometimes has nice boots… although its mostly granny wear.


Leave a Reply

